You’ve Been Selected For A Poll About What Americans Think!

Alex Baia
Slackjaw
Published in
5 min readJun 10, 2024

--

Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

A 2024 poll by Harvard Caps Harris found that The U.S. Military and the police, are among Americans’ most favored institutions. Hamas and Antifa are the least favored.

Pollster: Hi, this is Mitchell with the Harvard Caps Harris Poll. Am I speaking with Guy?

Guy: Yeah, I’m Guy.

Pollster: I’m calling today because you’ve been selected to take part in a poll about the mood of the country.

Guy: Wow, me? Cool!

Pollster: The poll helps us understand how Americans view certain groups and institutions. Do you want to participate?

Guy: Yeah, sounds good. I have thirty-three minutes until the dryer is done drying.

Pollster: Uh, okay. I’ll mention some names and groups. For each thing I mention, tell me your reaction: favorable, unfavorable no opinion — or if you’ve never heard of them.

Guy: Got it, boss!

Image is public, from The Harris Poll and HarrisX, p. 16

Pollster: Okay. First group: The campus protesters.

Guy: Never heard of them.

--

--

Alex Baia
Slackjaw

Humor writer, book junkie, stargazer, optimist. Resident philosophy major. Get my humor newsletter: https://alexbaia.com/humor