Finding Value in Technology as a #TransitionedTeacher

Taylor Wagner
Slalom Build
Published in
6 min readOct 26, 2022

I am a former teacher who recently transitioned into technology. My journey was driven by my desire to feel valued. In this article, I will discuss my jump to a meaningful career in tech.

I love to learn; I always have. When I was struggling to start a career after completing my bachelor’s degree and moving to a new state, I turned to education. There was a high need for teachers in Texas, with billboards scattered everywhere for alternative teaching certifications, and I figured my love of learning would translate into a passion for teaching.

I hit the ground running with a middle school English position, which later became a high school teaching position along with coaching the school’s swim team. I found a lot of success during these years, even being named “ESL [English as a Second Language] Teacher of the Year” for the 2018–2019 school year. It seemed as though I blinked and all of the sudden, I had been in the classroom for seven years.

Like so many people across the globe, the Covid-19 pandemic gave me the opportunity to self-reflect and I quickly came to the realization that my current career didn’t spark the passion inside that I hoped it would. I went into the teaching field because of my love for learning, but I hit a plateau and the career had given me all that it could. I was no longer happy. I lacked motivation for teaching. But the most important factor—and what I think is the driving force behind the Great Resignation across many industries—was that I did not feel valued.

I was not alone. At the beginning of the 2022–2023 school year, many news outlets reported tens of thousands of open teaching positions with many classrooms starting the school year without a full-time, certified teacher. And if you start following the hashtag #transitioningteachers on LinkedIn, you will join a community of over 6,000 people (as of August 2022).

The #transitioningteachers community was one that I could quickly relate to, with so many people sharing similar experiences and desires, regardless of geographical location or years of experience. The role of a teacher is highly undervalued. Employees wanting to feel appreciated is universal, and teachers are no exception. I had a desire to make a major change but the main issue for me was deciding what next.

Finding a new Career

The demand for workers in technology-related jobs is astounding, specifically software engineering. “That’s not an option for me” was my instant thought. I just finished my master’s degree in education and did not have the desire to go and get another degree. And let’s be real — I did not have the patience to go back and get another degree before getting out of the education field. I was ready now. Enter bootcamp!

Photo by Radowan Nakif Rehan on Unsplash

The mind frame of “that’s not an option for me” quickly changed to “I can make this happen” when I was able to find a self-paced, software engineering bootcamp that had a job guarantee attached to the program.

Over the course of the next year, I would spend my days teaching students how to write a quality essay and perfect their breaststroke skills. At night, I would burn the midnight oil learning about arrays, loops, databases, etc. This grueling schedule was enjoyable because I was getting back to what mattered most to me, learning.

My bootcamp offered career support along with technical skills and I remember saying multiple times to my career coaches, “I’m not picky about what tech space I start in — I just want to land somewhere where I can feel valued.” During my job search process, the following questions were what lead my decision on whether to apply for a role or not:

What are the benefits like? Is there inclusive parental leave? 401k? Insurance offerings?

Is this a remote job or a hybrid situation? Does the company offer flexible work hours? What is the time-off policy?

What are the company’s core values? Do those values match my values?

Slalom Build QE Academy

When I stumbled upon the job listing for the Quality Engineering Academy with Slalom Build, it was like I found everything I was looking for wrapped up into one.

Benefits? Oh yeah, options on top of options for insurance. Build even supports inclusive parental leave and insurance options for diverse family backgrounds. 401k support after a year with the company.

Job setup? Hybrid. There are strong communities and camaraderie at the Build Centers across the globe with lots of freedom to work in the manner that fits each builder’s life best.

And core values? That’s what really got me! Out of Slalom Build’s 10 core values, 5 of them have to do with learning and professional development! Check it out for yourself:

Do what is right, always.

Drive connection and teamwork.

Inspire passion and adventure.

Take ownership. Get it done.

Celebrate authenticity.

Focus on outcomes.

Fuel growth and innovation.

Stay humble and curious.

Build and shape a better future.

Smile.

I know what you are probably thinking. Every company has a set of core values and each one seems nice, right? But how many companies walk the walk? Well let me remind you, the job listing was for an Academy! Academy? Not an internship. Not a junior position. This Academy situation was like none other that I had seen in the hundreds of job listings I had looked at over the last few months.

What does ‘academy’ actually mean in this context? Academy means: full pay, full benefits, full-time hire with no timeline attached. This QE Academy would be the third of its kind for Slalom Build, bringing on a group of new quality engineers at the same time and give them FIVE full weeks of training, development, and a network of support to jump start their career. For someone who was in my position, pivoting industries and being a lifelong learner, the academy opportunity felt tailor-made to fit my needs and desires.

Decisions and Moving Forward

When I reached the end of my job search process, I received two offers in a 24-hour period. How do I choose between the two offers? What matters most to me? The big difference maker for me when deciding what route to take was the immediate investment that Slalom Build was willing to put in. Even before day one as a Builder, I already felt more valued than I had in several years in the teaching space, just because the company was willing to fuel my growth in an organized, transparent, and goal-oriented way.

Does Slalom Build walk the walk with their values? For this transitioned teacher, it’s an easy answer: absolutely! In less than three months as a Builder, I’ve already earned my AWS Cloud Practitioner Certification and I’m currently working on more certifications to expand upon my knowledge of the cloud. Not only are my goals and vision for my career on my terms, but Slalom Build is there to back me with the resources, time, and the supportive network I need to make it happen!

For the #transitioningteachers and job seekers still out there, consider prospective companies’ core values during your search. Once you know these, look for ways the company shows that those values are implemented through actions.

And for the companies seeking quality talent: are your core values easily accessible to job seekers? How do you demonstrate your company’s values in job listings and during the interview process? Do you have a strategic way to measure whether your company’s core values match prospective talents’ needs and goals? People are productive and loyal when they are happy.

The transition out of the education industry wasn’t short for me. It also wasn’t easy. But was it worth it? It most definitely was because the learning doesn’t end here for me. It didn’t end at bootcamp, or at the academy. It’s an ongoing journey because I’m fortunate to work for a company that values me and my education as much as I do.

Cheers to finding your value and to a career of endless learning and growth!

Taylor is currently a Quality Engineer at Slalom Build, having graduated from the QE Academy in June 2022. She currently lives in Houston, Texas, with her two children.

--

--