My Path to Data

Kelly Galvin
Slalom Data & AI
Published in
3 min readNov 11, 2021

Welcome to the latest edition of “My Path to Data,” where we talk to women from Slalom, current and alumni, about how they got into data, what their roles are like and even some tips on how to prepare for a career in data. Remember to join the 1-hour panel discussion event on November 18th hosted by Slalom’s Women in Data to hear more about their journeys and share stories of their careers at Slalom.

Today, we spoke with Verena Guttenberg, a Product Owner in D&A, from Slalom’s Seattle office. She shares her unconventional path to data through her strong working relationship with IT departments that lead her to realize her passion in Data and Analytics.

How did you get into the data field?

I used to run a Sales and Customer Service team. During that time, I was in charge of system improvements to our sales software and developed a strong relationship with our IT department. After completing several major initiatives together (like EDI and web ordering), I realized that I am way more passionate about that part of my role. I was fortunate enough to have someone take a chance on me who brought me on as a Business Analyst for their Software Dev team. Fast forward a few years and roles, our division was closed, and I had the opportunity to rethink what I wanted to explore as my next role. I decided to join our Digital Services department as the D&A Product Manager. Once again, I had leaders willing to take a chance on me and really leverage my background (where I have often found myself bridging the space between IT and the business).

What’s one thing you wish you could go back and tell yourself before starting a career in data?

First, it’s less scary than you think. Secondly, there are way more resources available than I realized. And lastly, don’t be afraid to ask; people like to help!

What was your role at Slalom?

I am a Product Owner for the Global Services D&A Team (under IT). As a Product Owner in Data and Analytics, I can bring teams together to understand business needs and enable scalable data solution through bridging the gap between technical and non-technical teams.

What made you decide to apply to or choose Slalom?

It was Slalom’s people-centered culture that sealed the deal for me!

What are some tips for those interested in a career in data or applying to Slalom?

Be yourself; Find your niche (What makes you, you? What fuels your passion?) and find ways to leverage those in your day to day.

What’s the most important Slalom core value to you now as a woman in data?

Drive connection and teamwork.

What is your superpower? Tell us something that you are good at!

I would say my superpower is that I am very tenacious; I don’t easily get discouraged when things aren’t going smoothly. I tend to quickly shift to solutioning next steps when things went off course.

Want to hear more from Verena?

Register now for Slalom’s Women in Data Community event: You & Data panel discussion on November 18th. Whether you have 10+ years of experience or are just starting your career, we hope you will join us to listen in on this conversation with other women in the industry. https://go.slalom.com/WID_You-and-Data

Verena Guttenberg

As Product Manager in Data and Analytics, Verena brings teams together to understand business needs and enable scalable data solution. With previous experience managing teams in retail, supply chain management, and customer service, Verena has developed a passion for bridging the gap between technical and non-technical teams.

Verena Guttenberg | LinkedIn

--

--