My Path to Data

Kelly Galvin
Slalom Data & AI
Published in
4 min readNov 16, 2021

Welcome to the latest edition of “My Path to Data,” where we talk to women from Slalom, current and alumni, about how they got into data, what their roles are like and even some tips on how to prepare for a career in data. Remember to join the 1-hour panel discussion event on November 18th hosted by Slalom’s Women in Data to hear more about their journeys and share stories of their careers at Slalom.

Today, we spoke with Maria Naveira, a Senior Consultant, from Slalom’s Philadelphia office. She shares her passion for data starting since being a kid.

How did you get into the data field?

I was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico and have been passionate about data and analytics ever since I was a kid. I remember finding it so interesting how businesses back home could use data to aid in their decision making and how few of them could do that quickly and effectively. I came to Philadelphia, PA when I was 18 years old to pursue my degree in Management of Information Systems and Marketing from Villanova University and have stayed in the Northeast ever since. I started off my career as a marketing analyst in an e-commerce company and then switched to focus my career as a Data Visualization Senior Consultant in Slalom Consulting. It is here where I confirmed my passions and decided to pursue my Master’s in Business Intelligence and Analytics from Saint Joseph’s University.

What’s one thing you wish you could go back and tell yourself before starting a career in data?

The one thing I wish I could go back and tell myself before starting a career in data is to not stress about the amount that I know today and always be willing to learn. Technologies in data quickly change as time goes on. Take your time to know the data concepts really well, practice your skills, and google the rest :)

What was your role at Slalom?

I am a Senior Consultant, specifically focused on Data Discovery & Visualization. I generate memorable insights and make complex data easy to understand through data visualization, storytelling and user focused business intelligence and analytics solutions.

What made you decide to apply to or choose Slalom?

What made me decide to apply or choose Slalom as my next company was our core values, the company culture, and the work-life balance Slalom provides. The core value that stuck out to me the most was “Do what is right, always” and “Smile”; these are things I strive to do in my everyday life and I found it both fascinating and awesome that a company would add that in its core values. I also loved the culture at Slalom and loved the fact that I could become a consultant and have a healthy work life balance.

What are some tips for those interested in a career in data or applying to Slalom?

Some tips for those interested in a career in data is to always be learning new technologies or concepts, build a portfolio, and practice as much as you can.

What’s the most important Slalom core value to you now as a woman in data?

The most important Slalom core value to as a woman in data is “Celebrate Authenticity”. As women in data, we should never be afraid to be our most authentic selves. We should be proud of what we have accomplished and celebrate our accomplishments as much as we can!

What is your superpower? Tell us something that you are good at!

I’d like to think I am really good at being empathic and creating great data stories and visuals. Outside of work, I’d like to think I am a damn good dog mama :)

Want to hear more from Maria?

Register now for Slalom’s Women in Data Community event: You & Data panel discussion on November 18th. Whether you have 10+ years of experience or are just starting your career, we hope you will join us to listen in on this conversation with other women in the industry. https://go.slalom.com/WID_You-and-Data

Maria Naveira

Maria Naveira is an experienced Data Visualization and Analytics professional who is passionate about improving the life of others by generating memorable insights and making complex data easy to understand through data visualization, storytelling and user focused business intelligence and analytics solutions. She was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico and received a Bachelor’s in Business Administration in Management of Information Systems and Marketing from Villanova University and a Masters in Business Intelligence and Analytics from Saint Joseph’s University. She is currently working as a Senior Data Visualization Consultant at Slalom in their Philadelphia office. Follow her on twitter (@mgnperspective) and check out her Tableau Public Portfolio for more visualization work.

Maria Naveira | LinkedIn

Maria Naveira (@mgnperspective) / Twitter

--

--