My Path to Data

Kelly Galvin
Slalom Data & AI
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2021

Welcome to the latest edition of “My Path to Data,” where we talk to women from Slalom, current and alumni, about how they got into data, what their roles are like and even some tips on how to prepare for a career in data. Remember to join the 1-hour panel discussion event on November 18th hosted by Slalom’s Women in Data to hear more about their journeys and share stories of their careers at Slalom.

Today, we spoke with Michelle Yi, a Slalom Alumni who is currently a Senior Director for Applied Artificial Intelligence at RelationalAI. She shares her story attributing her passion of music at an early age to her career in data and specifically AI.

How did you get into the data field?

I’ve always been interested in STEM in general from a young age. I even argue that my passion for music, and in particular music theory, is highly related to algorithms and math. In school, I studied computer science and it was there, along with my first job, that landed me in AI specifically. I’ve stayed ever since then. In AI, or in data more generally, you never stop learning, which to me is the best part of the field.

What is one thing you wish you could go back and tell yourself before starting a career in data?

Be fearless! I started my corporate career at 16, my English still wasn’t great, and I was largely on my own. Because of that, I believed so much of what everyone else told me (including “women can’t be technical”) I needed to do or who I needed to be that I didn’t spend enough time thinking about what I really wanted and going after that. But Beyoncé is right, it’s girls who run this world, and there’s nothing that can stop us.

What was your role at Slalom?

At Slalom, I was the Senior Director for the Global AI team. I co-started Slalom’s Global AI team based on momentum from a project we had done using AI on medical images for American Cancer Society and the resulting revenue/impact from that. The team I lead was dedicated to leveraging cutting-edge technologies and techniques (AI, Machine Learning, Cloud Platforms) to tackle some of the most difficult challenges.

What made you decide to apply to or choose Slalom?

When I applied to Slalom, I was with Deloitte at the time. I wanted something more entrepreneurial where there was still opportunity to build something new like the Global AI team and learn more about the business operating models. Slalom gave me that opportunity, and I’m grateful for that.

What are some tips for those interested in a career in data or applying to Slalom?

The advice I have is to really think about what you want to do, then network with people you find inspirational or are doing work that you want to do. Be proactive, take initiative to identify any skills gaps if there are any and get certifications or ramp up on those. Execute open source or public projects or initiatives that align to your interests and shine. As women and minorities, we can’t afford to wait for the opportunities to come to us.

What is the most important Slalom core value to you now as a woman in data?

This is a tough one because there are so many I like. I think it’s a tie between do the right thing, always, and being your authentic self. They kind of go together for me.

What is your superpower? Tell us something that you are good at!

I think my superpower is tenacity. I recently heard a great quote, “live the impossible,” that really resonated with me. I don’t give up on things I believe in, no matter what people say or how impossible the situation seems.

Want to hear more from Michelle?

Register now for Slalom’s Women in Data Community event: You & Data panel discussion on November 18th. Whether you have 10+ years of experience or are just starting your career, we hope you will join us to listen in on this conversation with other women in the industry. https://go.slalom.com/WID_You-and-Data

Michelle Yi

As the Senior Director for Applied Artificial Intelligence at RelationalAI and an advisor on multiple boards, Michelle specializes in machine learning and cloud computing and has 15 years of experience in technology consulting. She is passionate about diversity, STEM education/careers for our minority communities, and is an avid volunteer with Girls Who Code.

Michelle Yi | LinkedIn

--

--