What’s the difference between the Korean particles 에 and 에서?

S에스
slearningcorner
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2021
Photo by rawkkim on Unsplash

What’s the difference between 에 and 에서?

They are both articles that are related to location, but…

  1. 에 indicates the destination, while 에서 indicates the starting point
  2. 에 indicates the position of the subject, while 에서 indicates the location in which an action takes place

Location + 에

1. To indicate the position of the subject (에 + 있어요/없어요)

방에 있어요. = I’m in the room.

집에 없어요. = I’m not home.

2. To indicate the destination of action “to”

회사에 가요. = I am going to the office.

한국에 도착했어요. = I arrived in Korea.

Location + 에서

1. To indicate the location in which an action takes place

학교에서 한국어를 공부해요. = I’m studying Korean at school.

방에서 잘 거예요. = I will sleep in the room.

2. To indicate the place an action starts from “from”

대만에서 왔어요. = I come from Taiwan.

한국에서 갈 거예요. = I will go from Korea.

Let’s practice!

1. 서울역_ 있어요.

Should we use 에 or 에서 here? Use 에 to indicate the position of the subject.

서울역에 있어요. = I’m at Seoul station.

2. 도서관_ 책을 읽어요.

Should we use 에 or 에서 here? Use 에서 to indicate the location in which an action takes place.

도서관에서 책을 읽어요. = I’m reading a book in the library.

3. 학교_ 가고 있어요.

Should we use 에 or 에서 here? Use 에 to indicate the destination.

학교에 가고 있어요. = I’m going to school.

4. 어디_ 오셨어요?

Should we use 에 or 에서 here? Use 에서 to indicate the starting point.

어디에서 (=어디서) 오셨어요? = Where are you from?

--

--