How to add a border radius to YouTube videos

Cyrus Cuenca
Sleep Code Repeat
Published in
1 min readFeb 8, 2018

I was watching a facebook video the other day and I noticed the sexy border radius facebook applies to it’s videos. YouTube is currently my primary video streaming site, and I wanted a sexy border radius when I watched YouTube video too.

I managed to get what I wanted, and I thought other people might want a border radius as well. Below are a few easy steps to get your videos rounded.

  • Download a custom CSS browser extension.
    To round the corners of the videos, you need to apply the border-radius: rule to the video, which is why you need a custom CSS browser extension.
  • I use Stylish, but there are dozens of options to choose from.
  • Go to YouTube and click on a video.
  • Create a new stylesheet for the page. Open the extension and find the button to create a new stylesheet.
  • Put these rules in the stylesheet and save.
  • These apply a border radius to the player.
  • .html5-video-player{
    border-radius: 8px;
    }
  • #player-container{
    border-radius: 8px;
    }
    This applies a border radius to the thumbnails to make the site more
    visually consistent.
  • #thumbnail{
    border-radius: 4px;
    }
  1. You’re done!

--

--