How a Plant-Based Lifestyle Can Improve Your Sleep

Warwick Jones
Sleep Soundly
Published in
6 min readMay 28, 2024

Discover how a plant-based diet can enhance your sleep quality and overall well-being.

Credit: Photo by Shane

My plant-based lifestyle began when I was 32, which means that for more than half my lifetime, I have been, by and large, following a plant-based diet.

I say, by and large, because 2 or 3 times a year, I will eat seafood. Usually, because there isn’t much choice. Yes, I could get by without eating — skipping a meal wouldn’t be the end of the world. Right!

And sometimes, the mood just takes me, especially if it’s fresh line-caught fish, but I don’t get all guilty about it like some people do.

You have to remember I chose a plant-based lifestyle for purely selfish reasons — my health. Not because I wanted to save the environment or save livestock from the slaughterhouse. That said, I am very happy that my lifestyle choices do contribute, albeit in a small way, to both of these things.

Unexpected Health Benefits of a Plant-Based Diet

While I am very conscious of the obvious health benefits a plant-based diet has had on my health —lower blood pressure and reduced cholesterol, for example. There are others that have slipped under the radar or been taken for granted.

Take colds, for example. It is very rare for me to get a cold, and if I do, it can usually be traced back to me getting wet and cold — being caught out in the rain and not being able to dry off and get warm within an hour.

Last summer, I was out kayaking one evening. I got my timing wrong and was delayed getting back to shore by an outgoing tide. It started to rain, I got wet, as the sun went down the wind got up and I got chilled. I got a cold.

As for colds that do the rounds, I am usually spared. Not always, but most of the time. I firmly believe that this is because by immune system is stronger because of plant-based living.

Faster Sleep with a Plant-Based Diet

Another example of the benefits of a plant-based lifestyle is sleep. I am a light sleeper and always have been, that hasn’t changed much. Getting to sleep in the first place, however, is another matter. Prior to the age of 32, it would take at least an hour to get to sleep.

Since adopting a plant-based diet, it is more like twenty minutes. And it is one of the benefits that I didn’t notice at first. It was maybe a year before I realized it wasn’t taking me forever to get to sleep.

I think this was because it was a slow progressive change. Although, I don’t really know. I wasn’t paying attention. But either way, I am very happy that it doesn’t take me an hour or more as it once did.

How Diet Impacts Sleep: The Benefits of a Plant-Based Lifestyle

As I mentioned, I have always been a light sleeper, and this hasn’t changed — much. What has changed is the ability to fall back to sleep quickly. Some nights, I hardly register that I was awakened by a noisy neighbor or car backfiring or creaky floorboard.

Or all of the above :-)

You may have gathered that sleeplessness wasn’t something I was concerned about prior to adopting a plant-based diet, so this improvement in sleep quality has been a bonus.

The Connection Between Diet and Sleep

Let’s take a look at how adopting a plant-based diet can lead to a better night’s sleep.

Excuse me while I slip into researcher mode:

I think that in the quest for better sleep, many people overlook the powerful impact of our diet. Because what we eat not only affects our waistline and energy levels but also plays a crucial role in the quality of our sleep.

Our diet influences various bodily functions, including our sleep-wake cycle. Nutrient intake, meal timing, and food choices can all affect how well we sleep.

A plant-based diet, rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, and seeds, provides essential nutrients that support sleep health.

Key Nutrients in a Plant-Based Diet that Promote Sleep

  1. Magnesium: Magnesium is a vital mineral that helps regulate the nervous system and promotes relaxation. It’s abundant in leafy greens, nuts, seeds, and whole grains. Studies have shown that magnesium can help reduce insomnia and improve sleep quality.
  2. Tryptophan: This essential amino acid is a precursor to serotonin and melatonin, both of which are critical for regulating sleep. Plant-based sources of tryptophan include nuts, seeds, tofu, and legumes.
  3. Vitamin B6: Vitamin B6 helps convert tryptophan into serotonin, which is then converted into melatonin. Bananas, chickpeas, and potatoes are excellent plant-based sources of vitamin B6.
  4. Fiber: High-fiber diets have been linked to deeper and more restorative sleep. Fiber helps regulate blood sugar levels, preventing the spikes and crashes that can interfere with sleep. Fruits, vegetables, and whole grains are rich in dietary fiber.
  5. Antioxidants: Antioxidants, found abundantly in plant-based foods, help reduce oxidative stress and inflammation, both of which can disrupt sleep. Berries, nuts, seeds, and green leafy vegetables are packed with antioxidants.

Benefits of a Plant-Based Diet for Sleep

  1. Reduces Inflammation: A plant-based diet is naturally anti-inflammatory. Reducing inflammation can alleviate sleep-disrupting conditions such as sleep apnea and restless leg syndrome.
  2. Regulates Blood Sugar: Stable blood sugar levels are crucial for maintaining a regular sleep pattern. Plant-based diets, high in complex carbohydrates and fiber, help keep blood sugar levels steady.
  3. Supports Gut Health: A healthy gut microbiome is linked to better sleep. Plant-based diets, rich in prebiotics and fiber, promote a healthy gut, which in turn supports better sleep.
  4. Promotes Relaxation: Certain plant-based foods, like chamomile tea, almonds, and kiwi, have natural relaxing properties that can help you unwind and prepare for sleep.

Practical Tips for Incorporating a Plant-Based Diet for Better Sleep

  1. Start Your Day Right: Include nutrient-rich smoothies with spinach, bananas, and chia seeds in your breakfast to kickstart your day with sleep-supporting nutrients.
  2. Snack Smart: Opt for snacks like almonds, walnuts, and pumpkin seeds, which are high in magnesium and tryptophan, throughout the day.
  3. Evening Meals: Make your dinner rich in fiber and plant-based protein. A hearty lentil stew or a quinoa salad with plenty of vegetables can be both satisfying and beneficial for sleep.
  4. Herbal Teas: Incorporate herbal teas like chamomile or valerian root into your nightly routine. These teas have natural calming effects that can help you wind down before bed.
  5. Avoid Caffeine and Sugar: Limit your intake of caffeine and sugary foods, especially in the afternoon and evening, as they can interfere with your sleep cycle.

Conclusion

It’s fair to say that I didn’t have a sleep issue prior to starting a plant-based diet. Not really. However, I did gain an improvement in the quality of my sleep.

Almost every person that I know who has taken on a plant-based lifestyle has reported that the quality of their sleep has improved since.

I know four people who adopted a plant-based diet expressly for the purpose of getting a better night's sleep. All of them are happy to say it worked — although two of them sway between a traditional diet and a plant-based one depending on how they are sleeping. Or not!

So, adopting a plant-based lifestyle can have a profound impact on your sleep quality.

A plant-based lifestyle provides essential nutrients, reduces inflammation, regulates blood sugar, and promotes relaxation; a diet rich in plant-based foods can help you achieve a restful night’s sleep.

I encourage you to embrace the power of plants and enjoy the numerous benefits they offer, including better sleep. Sweet dreams!

--

--