Isles

We’re working on a civilisation simulation game drawing inspiration from Populous and Animal Crossing

Gregory Worrall
subculture
2 min readApr 9, 2019

--

I’m also going to use modelling clay and plasticine for the games art direction to try and help it stand out from the crowd, drawing inspiration from studios like Aardman Animations who are based in the same city I am. Bristol.

Courtesy of Jonathan Henderson

Growing up, I spent many hours playing god games like Populous and Black & White, it’s unique style of gameplay which prioritised careful consideration of the world in order to influence it’s inhabitants instead of just micromanaging uniques captivated me I’ve always been drawn to those types of strategy games.

Screenshot from Black & White

If you’re interested in following my progress building Isles or being able to find out when the game comes out, follow me on Twitter, where I’ll be sharing Isles-related tweets regularly.

I’ve also got a publicly viewable roadmap here, which I update daily.

I’ll also be writing occasional updates here on Medium, so feel free to follow if you’re a regular Medium user.

--

--