Why Slidebits was Created

Olajide Jr
Slidebits
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2018

I fell into the Bitcoin rabbit hole in 2013, as a programmer I’m always on the lookout for new promising technology and software. Bitcoin piqued my interest because I thought it had a lot of potential as programmable money. Credit cards and Paypal can also be programmable money but from a technical point of view Bitcoin/cryptocurrency is superior because the transactions are irreversible, the fees are cheap, and you don’t need permission from Paypal or Visa to create a transaction. In a world full of bad actors looking for any exploit they can take advantage of, the security of Bitcoin is nothing short of impressive and a technical breakthrough.

Bitcoin changed though a lot through the years and the core developers are focused on it being a store of value or “digital gold”. The digital gold route makes Bitcoin less programmable as the transaction cost are intentionally programmed to be high. Ethereum on the other hand can do more than just send value but can also run programmable logic that controls how value is sent. Transactions that can’t be reverse is powerful idea, programs that can’t be updated is even more powerful and opens a lot more creativity. Ethereum is a technology that I shrugged off at first because I thought Bitcoin will add features from it. I was wrong, Ethereum became the first major cryptocurrency platform to make programmable smart contracts and representable tokens like Slidebits mainstream.

I made Slidebits because if I am going to program a cryptocurrency with the that is easy to use and has a nice user interface, I can achieve that goal better through a token I have full development control over, having my fate sealed by the hands of other developers with different ideologies is not the best technical strategy. Retail stores give gift card so users can engage in purchases in the same store. Slidebits are made to incentive users to engage in the Slidebits protocol and network. In a world where no one clicks on advertisements online, new distribution and engagement models need to be tested and explored.

--

--