Passing the Phone Interview

Advice for the Phone Screening

Alex Wolfe
Small Advice
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2013

--

Today let’s talk about the first step in the interview process, the introduction. Intro calls usually last less than 30 minutes and are a great way for both parties to get to know each other a little better and see if there’s a good match. Here’s a few tips and traps to avoid when making that first connection.

Be Present

It seems like obvious advice, but you should be prepared to talk. Give yourself plenty of time before a call, and make sure you haven’t booked anything before or after. I’ve had people ask if they can call me back in 5 minutes because they’re eating, or people trying to talk while driving. Sometimes, they even cut the call short because they have an appointment or date right after. I’m generally pretty flexible. I won’t hold it against you, but none of those things make you look good. Be ready to talk, that’s it, especially when you’re competing with other people for a job.

Bring Energy

Yup, you need energy, personality, and passion. I need to know you actually want to be sitting next to me for at least the next year or two. If you’re stoked for this job, you should act like it. I love positive energy in an interview. In fact, I can overlook a few gaps in your experience if you have a great attitude. You can teach a smart person just about anything, but you can’t teach attitude.

Don’t Google

I know when you’re Googling, everyone does. I’ve talked to tons of candidates, and it’s really easy to spot the difference between someone who gives me a quick confident answer and someone who pauses for 5 seconds while I hear typing and then reads an answer awkwardly. I know. You didn’t fool anyone; you just ended the interview. Don’t do it.

If you don’t know something, that’s fine. Say you’re not familiar (make sure you study it later), and tell me what you do know. I don’t expect you to know everything. I’m just trying to get to know you.

Be Classy

Don’t tell me about your other offers during our first meeting. It’s tacky, tasteless, and young. We’re just getting to know each other, and believe it or not, I’m talking to other people too, lots of them. But when I’m talking with you, I’m focused 100% on what type of candidate you are, no one else, just you. Let’s have a great first introduction, and if it goes well, then, let’s negotiate. Usually, after the first discussion, we’re still a long way from that next step, so keep it simple, classy, and professional. Besides, if I’m really concerned about those details, I’ll ask.

Say Thank You

Send a thank you email - it takes 5 minutes. It doesn’t need to say any more than you enjoyed our conversation, the position sounds exciting, and you’re looking forward to chatting more. That’s it. Simple and classy, that’s who you are.

Stay Busy

Sitting by the phone and waiting for a call can make you anxious, crazy, and depressed. Keep hustling. You might not get this job or the next 10 you apply for, but don’t let that stop you. Try to figure out what you could improve on, and keep working at it. Stay focused, stay positive, and don’t give up. You’ll find something - it just takes time.

Good luck.

--

--

Alex Wolfe
Small Advice

I love building great products/teams. X-Googler, Former Firebaser, AdRoll Alumni, Mailgun, Boundary, Appdirect, Crowdflower, Threadsy, GoalStacker, iParadigms