#5

John Mcmanus
1 min readJan 29, 2016

--

Business development…they’re all the same.

I work brand side so on a daily basis I get between 5 to 10 emails a day from agencies, studios and consultants offering their services to me. Say I get 10 emails in a day…9 of them will be identicle — ‘we’re not like other agencies’, ‘we have a unique offering’. To make matters worse, the majority of them don’t know who they’re selling too! No joke, yesterday I had a phone call from a guy called James from “Gardening Monthly”…I work for a coconut water brand.

My three requests to business development people:

  1. Give me case studies. I’m much more interested in work you’ve already done, I don’t care about your innovative way of working to help my brand.
  2. Don’t ring every god damn day. It’s annoying when I’m trying to get back to your email and you’re ringing!
  3. My name is John, not Joe, Josh or James. If you can’t be arsed to work that out then you’re not getting a reply son.
Some friends of mine are rowing The Atlantic at the moment, bloody idiots. www.thetempesttwo.com

I present to you…2016’s best video so far.

--

--

John Mcmanus

Marketing @ Vita Coco Coconut Water Twitter & Instagram: @johnwcmac