Roxanne Henkle
Small Business Forum
1 min readJun 5, 2017

--

I agree that working in a field is hard work. I worked picking corn, cherries, (a top of a sketchy ladder) apples for a farmer. I have delivered newspapers by hand, in all kinds of weather. Those were hard jobs. I studied so that I did not need to work out in all the weather.

But, I will disagree that working in doors is not hard work. Add the element of a harassing boss, (sexual harrassment or insecurity, pettiness, etc.) low pay, family stresses, (divorce, caregiving, etc.) very difficult clients, extreme demanding deadlines. All of a sudden that coding, sales, art direction job becomes a hard job. Over the years I had heard, “that must be a fun job.” I would answer, “it can be.” But with the items added that fun job, can be emotionally, and intellectually and terrifyingly draining. I have had a boss where, being intelligent was a detriment. He was very insecure and would lash out. I was told, “not to take it personally.” Time and time again. Having a job that forces many people to deal with very difficult circumstances in order to put food on the table will make most jobs hard.

Thank you the dialogue.

--

--

Roxanne Henkle
Small Business Forum

Although not a household name, “Roxanne” could be synonymous with virtual and local research assistance. Spazhouse, Intuitive Research