Lessons I learnt as an Entrepreneur in 2016

Jagriti Pande
Small Business Forum
5 min readDec 12, 2016
Sometimes the beauty and vastness of grand things in world, makes us realise how irrelevant most of our worries are.

2016 was an eventful year for me. I started as a freelancer with a friend and then incorporated our business, travelled to another part of the world, got the first company office, and by the end of this year built a team. Looking back, I feel it has mostly been an amazing journey. There have been very important learnings from each good and perceived bad experience ( at that time few of these experiences seemed worst ever). As the year is closing, I think it could be a perfect time to reflect upon the year passing by and share some lessons and mistakes I learnt from.

There are no “good” shortcuts.

If there are 3 small hacks that might help you fix a problem vs one solution that is a true pain in the ass, something that will require an extra effort, you will need to learn, you will require some help, you will need to ask, make a call, write an email, may face rejection, etc, but you know it will work — Bear the pain maybe. Learn that skill that is needed, talk to that person who can help, write that email that you fear writing, buy that new software, anything that will help, do that because that will save time, will give you high returns and save you from regret later.

Beware of people who promise you moon without taking time to think

When they say they will deliver you something that is not even started, and you in your heart know this task can not be humanly possible — do not engage, do not walk away, — RUN !

Do not collaborate with people who are not willing to understand any perspective other than theirs

Whether teammates or potential clients, do not work with people who are not interested in your concerns, issues or feedback. These people are quite easy to identify — They do not want to take the feedback, they cut you in between while you are talking and most of all they usually have no interest in understanding the users they are serving

Learn to say no

It is perfectly okay and sometimes even an act of compassion to say no. I am not ashamed to admit that I have taken up projects from my beloved clients at insane deadlines and sometimes even tight budget. But somewhere, midway, I felt I did injustice to myself. Though, I delivered the projects with full zeal, I was not very happy with myself. Similarly, if there is an idea that you do not feel passionate about, or a project you are not excited about say no.

It is okay to not work sometimes

Ever had those days, when suddenly, you do not feel like waking up, or working. All you want to do is perhaps watch some TV, or read a book, or maybe do nothing or everything unrelated to work. That is okay! For me this is something I still struggle with. With me, I noticed that when often it is the mind’s and body’s way of telling you to give it a break. Give yourself permission to not work. Over time we condition ourselves in a way that we start relating our productivity to how much time we work in a day. It’s not an act of sin to take a little break or not work.

Never devalue your work EVER!

A part of it is already told above, but I still feel this is something that we need to tell ourselves over and over again- Asking money for your work is not bad, if you know you are going to deliver the best you can. This 2 part video series by Chris Do changed my whole perspective. Do not feel guilty about asking for money for something that is going to add a hell lot of value to their company.

Ask for help

No one is perfect, and no one knows everything. The sooner you accept it, the sooner you will find people who can help you in learning, building your business, managing your work etc. Learn to trust people who are better than you in some aspect of your business, and seek their guidance, whether as mentors, teammates, clients or collaborators.

Accept you are not perfect

There is always going to be someone better than you or your company. That is okay. Learn from them if possible, and if not just practice your skills. When I started my own design agency, for me the companies like IDEO and Frog Design were the benchmarks. While I respect and completely love what they do, what I also now know is that they have gone through their own ups and downs, their own journeys and they have persevered. Be patient and have faith that you will reach there.

Written communication needs some practice

Many of us, have not yet perfected the art of writing a good email. Not trying to offend someone here, but just go through your own sent box or inbox and see if the way you write emails matches the tone and emotion of your vocal communication? Coming from a highly academic background, all we were taught were to right really formally. While, it may have impressed my teachers and design jury members, my clients were not so happy ( I was more than once told I seem really cold to talk to, because of the way I wrote email). I learnt few very small things, that made a world of difference.

While writing your emails, read them in your mind or maybe even aloud. You may realise how it sounds. When we communicate through a screen, often we forget, we are not communicating to a non living screen. There is a person on the other side. Sound like a human and treat them like a human.

Not all friends are going to stay

Few of your friends might leave you, or you might be the one leaving few friends. It is okay. Be cordial, be nice and gentle. Do not make them guilty about not being in touch. Be polite and nice, and wish them good.

Ask before assuming

Whether it is for the research of your new design project or whether you want to clarify the client’s requirements again-ASK.

Keep Learning

Read books, take up a new course, learn music, or do anything that makes you happy.

Maintain a small diary

You may try fancy stuff to schedule your meetings and to do’s but nothing beats a simple and small old school journal. And please do not get sucked into finding that one perfect journal of the perfect size, shape, color and pages. Just start it with a small notebook that you can easily carry everywhere with you. My productivity increased proportionally with the decrease in anxiety I had due to the deadlines, once I started maintaining a simple task list and reminders on my small journal.

There were several other things that I learnt too, and there are few things that I need to learn and I am still not willing. Hopefully, in new year I will make some new mistakes and learn some new lessons.

I will be really glad to hear what you learnt in the year 2016. :)

--

--

Jagriti Pande
Small Business Forum

Co-founder and Chief Design Officer @ UX Gorilla| Co-founder @ ElpisDesign | Meditation lover