Why do we Need to Learn the Art of Time Management?

Vartika Kashyap
Small Business Forum
5 min readJan 25, 2018

Unlike my mother, I never woke up early, did all the household chores, ran for office, and managed a lot more things. I loved the idea of rushing at the last hour. In a way, I was neither used to multitasking nor to manage my day in a proper way.

This idea worked perfectly until I got into a B-school for MBA. This was the turning point in my life. Surviving in a B-school is no less than a roller coaster ride. You have to be the best version of everything to get through it. With the pressure of assignments, exams, presentations, case studies, I could barely manage a good amount of sleep. I tried to postpone stuff and do it at the last hour. But unfortunately, there was nothing like the last minute in a B-school because every minute is the last one.

“Want to become a leader who gets things done? Start using ProofHub.”

It took bad semester results and multiple failures to submit assignments for me to understand the importance of time management.

It was in the third semester of my MBA when I finally realized that I will have to decide priorities, stretch beyond my comfort zone, and be ready for action at any moment of the day if I want to get placed in a reputed organization. This was the time I realized the importance of time management in my life.

I had poor semester grades, bad presentation skills, had put on a lot of weight, was more into eating junk and found it hard to make it to the morning class. By now, I knew I badly needed a change. So, I took up a 7 days challenge for myself. I created only two rules for this challenge: one was to wake up at 5 in the morning and second was to be on time for everything. Although it took great courage to adapt to this but somehow managed to follow it for one full semester and the result was improved grades and on-time deliverables. I was able to find time to improve my body and mind, deal with the ever-growing pressure of the B-school, improve my skills and do almost everything. Just a small effort to change the way I manage my day helped me do a lot of new stuff. I could grab an internship with a reputed multinational firm.

Today, I am the Marketing Manager at ProofHub and my day includes managing a lot of things from work, office, family, and my health as well. When I see young employees finding it hard to deal with a lot of tI always found it difficult to understand the idea of time management. In fact, I always felt there is no need to manage the time by planning and scheduling. Even during my graduation years, I used to wait until the last minute to complete my assignments and project work. I had developed this mentality that whatever is urgent will automatically be done when the time comes.

hings then my only advice to them is to manage your team and your life will be managed. Here are a few points which helped me, and will certainly help you understand the importance of time management in life.

Accomplish Multiple Goals Easily

We all have multiple goals in our lives including career goals, health goals, learning a new skill etc. Achieving all this is possible only with effective time management. For instance, you can maintain your health only if you are able to spend extra hours on it. On the other hand, if you simply rush to the office at the last moment it becomes highly difficult.

Build a Successful Career

By effectively managing your time, you can accomplish more with less efforts. This helps you to fulfill your career goals by taking the right decisions at the right time. Time management improves your performance at work and allows you to take control over your career.

Reduces Stress and Anxiety

Being the last minute doer may help you to complete your work but it does invite a lot of stress and anxiety. Also, poor time management leads to bad decisions because they are generally taken under pressure. Further, increased stress leads to lower productivity levels as well. Once you are able to manage the hours of the day, you can balance your life quite easily. It eliminates the unnecessary stress due to bad or delayed decisions.

Find Time for Yourself

We all need time to relax and unwind between responsibilities, work pressure, family expectations and a busy life. This is possible with effective time management skills. When you have set priorities for your day then you can also spend some quality hours with yourself as well.

You can utilize this time to meditate for few minutes or do something which relaxes you such as reading a book, cooking, gardening etc.

These were some of the basic points to remind you of the benefits of time management. I know we all have those topsy-turvy days when we find it hard to fit in our routine. But if you are a career-oriented person who wishes to accomplish big in life then an extra effort beyond the comfort zone is all that you need to do. With all the amazing benefits as above, I hope you will be able to manage the rest of time left with you in the best possible way.

“Want to become a leader who gets things done? Start using ProofHub.”

Originally published at LinkedIn.com

********

Let me send you my best stuff, click here to subscribe now!

Vartika Kashyap runs the marketing team at ProofHub — a project management software for teams of all sizes. She is a seasoned marketing professional who is an expert in digital marketing and entrepreneurship. She’s been featured among LinkedIn’s Top Voices for the year 2016 & 2017. Connect with Vartika on LinkedIn, Medium and Twitter.

Also follow our company page @ProofHub to get the recent updates about our tool, published articles, motivational quotes & presentations.

********

If you liked reading this post, you are surely going to love this as well -

  1. Struggling to Manage Time? Here are Tips from World’s Busiest People
  2. 5 things extraordinary people do to act differently
  3. 7 signs that show you are not going to succeed in life

--

--

Vartika Kashyap
Small Business Forum

Chief Marketing Officer@ProofHub. Featured writer on LinkedIn. Contributor at Elearning Industry, Dzone, Your Story and Business.com.