How to Lead People Older and More Experienced Than You

And earn the respect you need to be effective

Max Klein
Small Business STRONG

--

Photo credit: Fizkes on Shutterstock

“Who does this kid think he is?” His voice boomed through the closed office door with no effort made to hide his indignance — from anyone within a square mile. The frustrated 40-something employee was complaining about me, the new and bewildered 20-something “boss.”

I’d made the mistake of over-compensating for my lack of experience by becoming a bull-in-a-china-shop on the same day I was given a leadership role. I was going to lead that team my way, and now! I was making decisions left and right and implementing them without delay.

Now, this isn’t necessarily a bad approach. Decisiveness in a leader is a good thing, but only if there’s some wisdom behind it. And in my case, there wasn’t.

But that was 20 years ago. I’m the 40-something now who’s learned how to lead since then in various military, corporate, volunteer, and government settings.

Today, 4 in 10 U.S. employees work for a younger boss according to a Harris Interactive survey, so 40% of the entire workforce has the potential to work for a less experienced (in everything) 20-something like I once was.

Here are a few things you can keep in mind when leading older and more experienced…

--

--