Decluttering Success — Make Progress in 5 Easy Steps

Roz Andrews
Small Steps
Published in
6 min readAug 8, 2019

--

“The best way to find out what we really need is to get rid of what we don’t.” Marie Kondo, organizing consultant and author.

Declutter your dining room so you can connect with your family over dinner. Photo by Skeeze from Pixabay

Did you start decluttering with great enthusiasm, donating piles of clothes to charity, recycling stacks of magazines, and giving away DVDs you know you’ll never watch again?

At some point, did your enthusiasm for decluttering decline? Perhaps you got to a point where you found it hard to make decisions. Or perhaps it was difficult to find the time to declutter.

It can sometimes be hard to move forward with decluttering. If your decluttering process has stalled, here are five small steps you can take to get moving again.

1. Ditch the Undecided Box

I used to put quite a lot of items into an undecided box. Having an undecided box slowed down my decision-making process because I had three choices (keep, discard or undecided) rather than two.

I found that my undecided box was just causing me to delay decluttering decisions that I needed to make immediately.

Now that I’ve ditched my undecided box, I follow Marie Kondo’s advice and just keep anything I’m uncertain about.¹ On a few occasions, I’ve gone back and got rid of things I originally decided to keep.

--

--

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

Writer, book editor, proofreader & founder of www.rawritersforhire.com and www.medium.com/small-steps, moving forward in life, one small step at a time.