How I Quit Drinking

What Worked For Me

Grant Von Pein
Small Steps

--

Photo by thom masat on Unsplash

Hi guys. It’s me again. So, before you read any further I have to warn you. This article is not for the faint of heart. I will be sharing some disturbingly graphic details about a very sensitive time in my life as a full-blown, far-from-functioning alcoholic, and how I managed to make it out alive.

While reading this, please keep in mind that I am fully aware that we are all different. Hell is hell. It doesn’t matter how you got there, what you did while you were there, or how you got out (if, in fact, you were able to make it out). God bless those who haven’t yet.

This is simply my personal account of what I went through and what I had to do to escape my own version of hell. My hope is that maybe someone reading this can relate, and understand that it may take some doing, but life after death is not only a possibility, it’s a beautiful thing.

I am 53 years old. If I were to say that I’m lucky to be alive, I’d be lying. Luck has nothing to do with it. I have lived a crazy life, that’s true. I have made it through some very intense situations, but not by luck. By never giving up. By having good powers of observation and a sense of awareness, I have always found a way to survive. I worked really hard to stay alive this long. My journey is far from over.

--

--

Grant Von Pein
Small Steps

Born in Portland Oregon in 1970. Love the rain. I like taking pictures, playing guitar, and writing. I write all kinds of stuff, including music and poetry.