How to Boost Your Mood During Quarantine

Try these small, science-backed tips to stay laughing in lockdown (or anytime)

Caroline Schley
Small Steps

--

Photo by Juan Camilo Navia on Unsplash

2020 has been a challenging year for the best of us.

Personally, I’ve been in quarantine for almost two months. I’m fortunate to have a continued stream of income during this time, but stress has still been gnawing away at my stomach lining as I contemplate the future.

  • What will my job look like next year?
  • How can the economy recover from this type of global pandemic?
  • What if the grocery store runs out of flour? Or coffee? Or trash bags?

There’s no shortage of things to worry about. When I’m feeling overwhelmed, I often need to force myself into a more positive mindset.

Here are the tips I use to change my perspective.

1. Get To Get

When I’m faced with a particularly annoying quarantine task (for example, going to the grocery store on the weekend, which can mean hour-long waits in line), I like to change my frame of reference.

Instead of thinking: ‘I have to (insert annoying task here).’, I change my frame of reference and think, ‘I get to (insert annoying task here).’

--

--

Caroline Schley
Small Steps

YA author, avid reader. New York City born, currently living in Madrid. Personal essays, ex-pat life & self-improvement. Reach out @ www.carolineschley.com