How to Build a Successful Meditation Routine

Science-backed tips to incorporate a meaningful contemplation practice in minimal time

Caroline Schley
Small Steps

--

Photo by Paul on Unsplash

I avoided meditation for years because I thought it sounded:

  1. Time-Consuming
  2. Complicated
  3. Over-Whelming

As a hobby novelist with a full-time teaching job and several dedicated extracurricular pursuits, activities that check those three boxes do not often enter into my schedule. But during the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020, I realized I needed to learn strategies to focus my thinking and calm my mind.

After years of skepticism, meditation finally entered the picture. To my delight, I quickly realized I was able to pursue a meaningful meditation practice in only a few minutes a day.

Here are five easy, efficient ways to incorporate this life-changing practice into your daily schedule.

Photo by Hans Vivek on Unsplash

1. Pair Meditation with Brushing Your Teeth

The idea that you can pair meditation with an already well-developed habit in your schedule takes advantage of…

--

--

Caroline Schley
Small Steps

YA author, avid reader. New York City born, currently living in Madrid. Personal essays, ex-pat life & self-improvement. Reach out @ www.carolineschley.com