How to Navigate Those Scary Social Events

You May Even Start To Like Them

Sue Reid
Small Steps
Published in
7 min readAug 30, 2023

--

Hands raising glasses at a party
Photo by cottonbro studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/people-toasting-wine-glasses-3171837/

I won’t lie.

I still think of 100 reasons for not attending a party or social event. Whatever the reason I might give, the truth is, I still find social gatherings hard work.

These days, I consider myself confident in social situations. That said, I am still an introvert, so I don’t like them much.

If you are an introvert who also has social anxiety, you are really going to fail at parties. But you already know that; you tell yourself before every social event.

What is social anxiety?

Exactly as it sounds, social anxiety is feeling anxious when you are in a social setting. This could be a party, social event, work event, networking, or anything where there is a room full of people.

The people do not even have to be strangers. You may not even feel comfortable speaking at a work meeting.

It is important not to confuse social anxiety with introversion.

An introvert may not like social gatherings either, but the difference is this:

  • Introverts don’t like being with lots of people because it drains their energy.
  • Social anxiety sufferers are fearful of being…

--

--

Sue Reid
Small Steps

I had to rebuild my self-confidence after a toxic marriage. Now, I coach and write about building confidence. Contact me at sue@suereidcoaching.com