How to Read More Each Day

First, realize that you do have enough time

Caroline Schley
Small Steps
3 min readApr 10, 2020

--

Photo by Fabiola Peñalba on Unsplash

When I set out to write my first novel, I heard the same advice over and over again.

You need to read as much as possible.

Spend at least an hour reading every day.

Get familiar with the writers in your genre.

Read books like the one you plan to write so you know what to do.

I got it. Reading was important.

But I also needed to write. And, as we all know too well, there are only a limited number of hours in each day. So I had to examine my schedule and make some choices about how to incorporate more reading time.

Here is what I learned.

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

1. Start Small

Examine your schedule and ask yourself the following question:

Could I incorporate reading into my schedule for ten minutes each day?

Figure out some specific times of day that you would be able to start your reading practice. First thing in the morning and around lunch are two times that work for me. Play around with your daily agenda and figure out the parts of the day when you could bolster your reading.

2. Read on Your Phone

I will always be an advocate for print editions. But, when I analyzed my time, I realized that a lot of the moments I would be able to spend reading were moments when I might not have a book with me.

So, I streamlined my process and started downloading books onto my phone. Instead of spending my commuting time scrolling through social media, I would read a book. I commute for forty minutes a day. The pages added up.

3. Set a Timer

With limited free time, it can be difficult to convince yourself to ‘trade’ reading for another activity. Often, I would sacrifice a social event to produce more reading time, then feel resentful that I was missing out on all the fun. I got around this by setting a timer for ten minutes. I would read, and then I would go out to dinner or meet a friend for coffee. Usually, I’d return home excited to pick up my book where I left off.

4. Read What You Like

Don’t feel bad if you don’t want to spend your limited free time thumbing through the latest Malcolm Galdwell tome. Find a genre you enjoy. Read a magazine or a graphic novel.

As long as you’re reading, you can feel good about the idea that you’re bettering your brain. According to this 2013 study in Neurology, any type of reading allows for the cognitive activity that helps keep the brain strong in old age.

5. Start a Reading Club

It doesn’t have to be a book club. When I started writing fiction, one of the most interesting things I did for my writing practice was read the newspaper every day. Then, I talked to other people who enjoyed reading the news and we would exchange interesting stories.

When I wanted to learn more about philosophy, I would ask friends for article recommendations, then suggest we read them together and discuss them. If your goal is to read a particular type of publication (or maybe even a particular study guide), send a message out to your friends and see if anyone wants to join you.

How do you incorporate reading into your life? Feel free to continue the conversation in the comments below.

You may also enjoy reading:

--

--

Caroline Schley
Small Steps

YA author, avid reader. New York City born, currently living in Madrid. Personal essays, ex-pat life & self-improvement. Reach out @ www.carolineschley.com