How to Start Decluttering Your Paperwork

Let go of the past as you rip up old paperwork!

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

After decluttering most of our books in 2019, one of my goals in 2020 is to declutter our paperwork. First, I want to go through two box files in the living room and then move onto the files in the upstairs storage area.

My main aim, as with all my decluttering, is to clear space by getting rid of unnecessary items. However, I didn’t realize how therapeutic this task would be psychologically!

If you’re thinking of decluttering your paperwork, here are six small steps to get you started.

1. Decide If Paperwork Is Your Current Decluttering Priority

In her book, The Life Changing Magic of Tidying¹, Marie Kondo advocates decluttering paperwork after you’ve decluttered your clothing and your books (in that order).

I started decluttering my paperwork last year, when I was also decluttering my books. I went through all my business-related papers, organizing them, and getting rid of anything out-of-date or unnecessary.

I then started on my personal paperwork but didn’t get very far with it as I wanted to focus on books. Now that most of my books have been decluttered, I feel ready to concentrate on paperwork. As…

--

--

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

Writer, book editor, proofreader & founder of www.rawritersforhire.com and www.medium.com/small-steps, moving forward in life, one small step at a time.