I Am Living Life on My Own Terms

3 Small Steps to Living Life on Your Own Terms

1 Minute Read
Small Steps

--

Photo by NEOM on Unsplash

When I was 28, I worked as a groundskeeper. The apartment complex was mixed income but had luxury features. For one, it was indoors, in the cool, with elevators and updated appliances.

Yet I was always outside. It was hot; it was dead in the middle of the summer, and I was outside. Unlike my team members who were working in the cool air.

I remember one day I was picking up trash around the apartment complex and the heat was unbearable. I had spent so much time trying to impress my supervisor because I wanted the job. I was a temp employee.

But, I had to get out of the sun. I was going to pass out. I went inside and sat on the steps, afraid my supervisor was going to find me, but he never did, and even at the end of the day, he insisted that I go inside.

I felt so small. I was people pleasing when I should’ve been living life on my own terms.

What does living life on your own terms mean?

Living life on your own terms means giving yourself the freedom to do what you want with life when you want to do it. It can mean a lot of things, so I’ll give you a few examples of what it looks like:

  • Starting a daily…

--

--