The Villain's Mask: The Hero Hiding in Plain Sight

4 Steps to Changing a ‘Good vs. Evil’ Mindset

Mary@Kansas City
Small Steps

--

“What were you expecting? A monster?”

George Higgins (played by James Gandolfini) after removing his mask for the first time.

(From the 1999 movie, 8MM, starring Nicholas Cage)

Photo by Nathan Wright on Unsplash

YES, I was expecting a monster.

After all, the character in 8MM who asks this question committed a monstrous act.

He raped and killed an innocent girl. He filmed the dastardly act as it was happening.

Other people paid money to view the film. A film, may I remind you, whose central plot was the rape and murder of a teenage girl.

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

So, YES, a monster is EXACTLY what I was expecting.

Since I was a little girl, I visualized the enemy, a.k.a. — the bad guy/monster, as a mean-looking, sinister villain who secretly crept about the city, waiting to catch me at my most vulnerable moment.

Reality, however, is different.

--

--

Mary@Kansas City
Small Steps

Ex-teacher, social justice warrior, and spiritual seeker. Sharing my life experiences and insights on Medium.