This Book Changed My Life

Vic Womersley
Small Steps
Published in
4 min readSep 26, 2020

--

Image by Blackwell’s Bookshop

It’s not your usual life-changing book. It doesn’t cover any self-help topics, physical fitness, or productivity. It has nothing to do with money or work. Rather, it’s all about the UK’s native plants.

‘The Hedgerow Handbook’ by Adele Nozedar opened the natural environment in the UK to me gently, kindly, and beautifully. I love this book for so many different reasons, not least for all the knowledge contained within its covers.

Recipes, Remedies, Rituals

When you emigrate across the world, so much of what is familiar is left behind. Even if your culture was born from the one you are assimilating with.

My country of birth is known for being hot, dry, and dangerous. It smells of eucalypt when it rains and the grass spikes the soles of your feet in summer if you don’t wear flipflops. Or thongs, as I grew up calling them.

England is so very gentle by comparison. The seasons turn with unrivaled beauty. The plants beckon you outside — no matter what the weather is doing. The smell and softness of the grass will delight your senses.

Despite this gentleness, the plants were strangers to me, just like the people. I couldn’t tell the difference between an oak and hazel. I had no idea what all the fuss about elderflower cordial was. And if a yew tree whacked me over…

--

--

Vic Womersley
Small Steps

I’m a freelance writer using Medium to explore ideas that interest me. I hope they interest you too. Get in touch here: vicwomersley@gmail.com