Thoughts on Feeling Excited

How do you experience this positive emotion?

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

--

Photo by Dmitry Shamis on Unsplash

What is excitement? It’s a bit like feeling butterflies in the pit of your stomach.

Excitement is a positive emotion. So, it’s a good idea to focus on excitement, as well as other positive emotions, such as gratitude, empathy and compassion.

However, excitement feels a bit like fear, which is a negative emotion. Perhaps the reason they feel similar is that they both contain at least a little uncertainty.

People get excited about different things. My husband and daughter get excited about going on fairground rides, while I feel sick when I even think of going on one!

So, what do I feel excited about? I always feel excited about traveling. Whether it’s just a day trip to a place I’ve visited before to see a friend or a week abroad in a country I’ve never been to before, I feel that sense of excitement building in my stomach in the weeks and days before the trip.

The excitement - and anticipation - of seeing a new place or revisiting a well-known place, of catching up with friends or meeting new people, helps me to cope with the challenges and issues I face in my ‘normal’ humdrum daily life.

Excitement gives me energy and purpose. It fuels my positivity. Life is all about…

--

--

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

Writer, book editor, proofreader & founder of www.rawritersforhire.com and www.medium.com/small-steps, moving forward in life, one small step at a time.