3 Phrases to Change Your Perspective

Simple quotes to encourage you to build a better life

Vic Womersley
Small Steps

--

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

I’m not a big one for inspirational quotes. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy reading and hearing words of encouragement, I just don’t remember specific quotes or who they are attributed to.

Even so, there are three particular phrases that have shaped how I live my life and who I am today. Sometimes these phrases run through my head like a mantra, driving me on or providing comfort during dark times.

Other times they are simply words that I endeavor to live by. In doing so, I hope to create a happier life, with more fulfilling relationships and beautiful experiences. So, without further ado, here are the three phrases that have helped me get to where I am today.

“This too shall pass.”

Most often this quote runs through my head as “Nothing lasts forever”. It began decades ago when my Mum walked out on my Dad. That was a pretty tough time for me and my siblings; the pain was hot and sharp. Some days were difficult to get through, with the lump of abandonment sitting in my throat and chest. A pain that seemed impossible to shift.

Eventually, it lessened and became more bearable. “Nothing lasts forever” reminded me that the pain of being abandoned is impermanent…

--

--

Vic Womersley
Small Steps

I’m a freelance writer using Medium to explore ideas that interest me. I hope they interest you too. Get in touch here: vicwomersley@gmail.com