Three Simple Steps to Living Clutter-free!

Recently, I realized that my mother followed three simple rules to stay organized.

Anna Riley
Small Steps

--

Photo by Douglas Sheppard on Unsplash

Over the years, I’ve worked at being clutter-free and have improved, keeping belongings to a minimum; however, I still end up with too much STUFF!

Recently, I asked myself, ‘What did Ev (my mother’s nickname) do to keep up with decluttering?’ She had an impressively meticulous and minimal style, but it took me until now to pinpoint precisely how she organized her home and life.

Last month, I realized my mother’s success came from three simple steps. Here they are:

1. First, she knew where everything was in her home.

2. She sorted it out whenever she opened a drawer, cupboard, or closet (or at least every few times).

3. She kept what was of value.

That’s it! The secret to Ev’s success was that she took the opportunity to look through and systemize EVERYTHING quite often. For instance, she reviewed what was in a drawer when putting something away. The more I thought about it, I realized she made it a requirement to know the contents and remove what was unnecessary.

--

--

Anna Riley
Small Steps

* Proud Mom of two daughters * Grandmother to an adorable toddler girl * Ageless spirit * Still learning in my sixtes * Personal blog in the works!