What To Do When Life Goes South

When everything seems hopeless, remember you are not helpless.

Veronica Weedon
Small Steps

--

Small boat in open waters.
Photo credit: francescoch on iStock

It’s probably fair to say we’ve all been there at some point or another.

The first 38 years of my life felt like a never-ending roller coaster. But of those, the latter 10 years felt more like that roller coaster was on a one-way track into the abyss.

Here’s a quick summary of those latter 10 years.

The closest person in the world to me, my brother, died. I got dragged through the courts for six years. My employer asked me to leave because they were not prepared to grant more time off. I was unemployed for an uncomfortable while.

I was in a terribly toxic relationship for 6 years. My health kept declining — I had a seizure, back surgery, chronic fatigue, just to name a few. My grandmother died. My mother died.

I was told the day before my wedding that the groom wasn’t coming. I was in a toxic work environment. And I was betrayed by people I’d known for most of my life.

I definitely felt like life was going/had gone south.

I was exhausted and felt bitter, disappointed, frustrated and angry. Most of all I felt hopeless.

--

--

Veronica Weedon
Small Steps

Explore your curiosity & evolve. Deep dives on health, relationships, human potential & lifestyle design. www.revivalhealth.ch