Git (Script) Aliases That Could Be Helpful

Krishna Damaraju
Small Things
Published in
1 min readApr 20, 2018

--

Usage of terminal is one of the best things a programmer does. It makes us feel like a little hacker playing around (at-least to me ;D ) with his cozy tool. We write little tools (when ever possible) to automate small tasks or cut the pain of typing a very long commands.

Git has the awesome feature of writing your own aliases to commands. I like it a lot and written a set of aliases that I use everyday (I call them short-codes) and I wanted to share them hoping to-be useful to others.

And it starts here ..

These are the list of aliases that I use everyday.

https://gist.github.com/SarathSantoshDamaraju/3e1e85e2c3a8c3b3ccb5cbac937f2bef

If you feel they are helpful, you can create your own aliases with the above list or I have created a git repo with detailed instructions to install and use them.

Make sure to reopen your terminal to see the changes.

I’d recommend beginners to learn and understand actual commands before using any tools/aliases for git.

Thanks for reading my post. I’d like to hear your thoughts in comments. If you like the article, please click the 👏 below so that more people may read it.

--

--