3 Crucial Mistakes I Made As a Project Manager

Miyavi Lin
Small Wins
Published in
4 min readApr 13, 2024
Photo by Rodeo Project Management Software on Unsplash

Before delving into the world of becoming a Notion creator, I walked a different path.

I was a project manager, and it wasn’t a smooth journey.

I stumbled, fell, and made mistakes -
mistakes that had an impact on the direction and success.

Each mistake, however, was not just a setback.

They were opportunities for growth, for learning, and for improvement.

The lessons I learned from each one have been instrumental in shaping who I am as a professional today.

In this article, I’m going to share with you the 3 crucial mistakes I made during my tenure as a project manager.

But more importantly, I will share the lessons each one taught me.

Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

Mistake 1: The Trap of Not Delegating Effectively

In my early career, I was caught in the loop of wanting to do everything myself.

It’s a mindset that many of us, especially those with a perfectionist streak, fall into with the belief that it’s the only way to ensure tasks are completed to our exacting standards.

However, this approach is a fast track to exhaustion and is not scalable.

There’s a hard limit to what any of us can achieve individually — after all, there are only 24 hours in a day. You can’t possibly do everything within that time frame.

My experience has taught me a valuable lesson: trust your team.

The art of delegation is about assigning tasks that align with each team member’s strengths.

So if you are a project manager, your job is to provide guidance and support when needed.

When you trust your team and delegate tasks well, it opens up space for you to focus on strategic matters that require your attention and expertise.

It not only makes everyone work better, but also makes your team feel more in control.

Photo by Immo Wegmann on Unsplash

Mistake 2: The Hazard of Not Setting Clear Goals

Projects can quickly lose direction and focus without clear goals.

Looking back at my first days as a project manager, I now realize a big mistake I made -

I didn’t set goals that were easy to understand, measurable, and realistic.

Let’s take for example the task of “writing a detailed report.”

This instruction was something I would commonly assign to my team.

But this leaves too much room for interpretation and can lead to varying results.

Because, how detailed is “detailed?”

A clear goal might look like this:

“Write a report that includes an executive summary, three key findings, and supporting data for each finding.”

By structuring tasks this way, team members can gain a clear understanding of your expectations.

This clarity can increase the chances of achieving the desired outcomes, as everyone is on the same page about what needs to be done.

This is particularly important when working in a fast-paced industry.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Mistake 3: The Pitfall of Not Monitoring Progress Consistently

In project management, tasks are intertwined.

Completing a task is no longer a straight line.

It’s a web where tasks affect each other.

You must make all the “right” moves to ensure the success of the project.

Without consistent progress monitoring, minor issues can quickly escalate into significant problems.

I learned this the hard way when I found myself overwhelmed with tasks and failing to check in on progress regularly.

The consequence? Missed deadlines. Even worse, unhappy customers.

To avoid this pitfall:

  • establish a system for tracking tasks and stick to it, and
  • dedicate time each day for progress reviews.

Whether you use a project management tool or a simple spreadsheet, the key is to use a system that works for your team.

Avoid over-complicating things or seeking the perfect tool.

Being a project manager can be a challenging role, juggling multiple tasks and managing a team.

It’s a role that requires strong leadership skills, excellent communication, and a keen eye for detail; yet it’s also a role that can be incredibly rewarding.

Through my experiences, I have learned that effective delegation, setting clear goals, and consistent progress monitoring are crucial elements of successful project management.

As you continue on your journey at work and in life, I hope you can implement these lessons and continue to grow, learn, and strive for success.

Every challenge is an opportunity in disguise.

Keep striving for growth!

This article is from my Work Smart newsletter.

Every Wednesday, I’ll deliver useful content about Notion or productivity, directly to your inbox.

Join the list if you’re interested.

--

--

Miyavi Lin
Small Wins

Marketing manager|New writer|Cat lover 🐈 Exploring life