Mentees’ Experience — STEM Mentorship Program

Smartcheli
Smart Cheli
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2021

Smart Cheli conducts a 3-months long STEM mentorship program each year. STEM mentorship program is targeted especially to young girls especially those who have completed their 10+2 education or are in their first year of bachelor’s degree. Through this mentorship, our young girls get an opportunity to explore their career choice. Also, we help them shape their personality through personality development training.

If you cannot see where you are going, ask someone who has been there before.

— J Loren Norris

To know more about this mentorship, let’s see what our alumina has to say about the STEM mentorship program.

From Left: Mentee Aayushma Uprety and Mentor Nishu Singh

Meet Ayushma,
Freshman at Smith College
Massachusetts, USA

It was an amazing experience being the mentee in the STEM Mentorship Program organized by Smart Cheli. Smart Cheli, an organization that aims to encourage young girls in the STEM field through various programs, training, and workshops, has been doing a really great job. It was my pleasure to have received the opportunity to work and receive guidance from such fine STEM female graduates. Getting to know the struggles that they had to overcome and the works that they have been doing to promote gender equality in STEM is something I cherish a lot. Besides from learning about their work I got to learn so many things that turned out to be handy in my academics as well. Significantly, I met some good, like-minded people out there who have now become my close friends. Currently, I am a freshman at Smith College. I am extremely grateful for such an overwhelming experience and I would like to acknowledge the whole team for this. Hats off to two strong ladies who founded this amazing organization, the mentors of the program, and the Smart Cheli family for such a great step for creating a positive change in society by sharing knowledge and experiences. I would like to wish them all the best for their future events and I am hopeful that this organization will inspire many more females in the upcoming days as well.

From Left: Mentee Sanjita Pokhrel and Mentor Sulata Dhakal

Meet Sanjita,
Freshman at Sweet Briar College
Virginia, USA

Hello. I am Sanjita Pokhrel, a mentee in STEM Mentorship 2020. I am a freshman at Sweet Briar College, Virginia. I am majoring in mathematics. I am also an executive member at Astronomy Enthusiasts in Nepal.

The overall journey as a mentee was an incredible learning opportunity for me. The mentorship covers not only about STEM topics but also about personal development. The mentors were always ready to guide us in any way possible. The program opened so many doors for me. I got an opportunity to widen my network. Thank you, Smart Cheli for an amazing experience. Forever Grateful.

STEM Mentorship Program applications are now open for mentees! Apply here

Written by Melina Shakya
Content Writer, Smart Cheli

--

--

Smartcheli
Smart Cheli

We are a social enterprise working for creating gender balance in the stem field . We offer robotics, coding training for young girls.