MENTAL HEALTH

I’m Tired of Feeling Anxious

Oliwia Wilk
Smartacity
Published in
5 min readOct 17, 2022

--

The journey of making your mind a better place.

Photo by Uday Mittal on Unsplash

Recently when I was going on a trip with my partner, he asked me if I sometimes have that feeling of such strange anxiety for a while. I got worried that he felt that way, then replied that I have that feeling all the time. It was true. It still is.

It struck me that I actually feel that way all the time. There is maybe half an hour during the day when I don’t worry, don’t stress and just function carefree.

Feeling anxious from time to time is normal. Especially in stressful situations, under pressure. Of course, it is unpleasant and I do not wish anyone to feel this way too often. Especially to my partner.

This is such a strange feeling. If it’s caused by a certain situation, like a college exam, a job interview, a car crash on the street, looking for a lost pet, a trip. It is a natural reaction, a reaction to stress and the unknown.

But what if this feeling accompanies you all the time, or almost all the time. Seemingly everything is fine, but you feel like it’s not. You worry about imaginary scenarios, news you read a week ago (but you’re still here, you’re alive, everything around you is fine so why are you still thinking about it)?

Stressing is stressful. Tiring. Constantly wondering what bad things can happen, what will happen today, and if not today then tomorrow. And the next day, and the day after that. Black scenarios multiply in one’s head, really out of the blue.

Normal things that don’t cause most people any problems may seem like a milestone. Even a simple evening out can cause feelings of anxiety due to new places, many people, and absence from home.

It’s called anxiety.

And it sucks.

Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

As I mentioned, this feeling is normal from time to time, just as short-term stress is healthy. But imagine feeling like this almost all the time. From the moment you wake up until you go to sleep. It’s exhausting and many people don’t even understand it and accuse you of making excuses.

It’s not that I don’t want to go out with you to the party. It’s just that my belt of such demanding interactions is unloaded, I was not prepared for it and I prefer to sit at home where I feel safe. It’s not personal, it’s just too strong a feeling of anxiety to push myself into an uncomfortable place for me today.

My anxiety comes mostly from reading news. Every little piece of bad news makes me tremble. By contrast, most of my friends don’t give a damn about them. I keep imagining these bad scenarios in my head and they’re like “What? It’s impossible. Why would you even think about it.”

That’s an example of mine. Anxiety can come from many different reasons. Every one of them is valid.

“Anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, but only empties today of its strength.” — Charles Spurgeon

Dealing with anxiety is not easy. Especially if we are talking about a long-term condition. However, it is not impossible. We can perform the simplest ways in fact at any time, alone at home or with the help of someone close.

I don’t want to add another simple list on what to do. People with anxiety need something else. I find cute, aesthetic infographics, mostly from pinterest.com, so so helpful.

Take a look at this one. It gives simple ways on how to calm down your anxiety. I can tell you that I tried all of them and they really do work. It’s a simple, quick and pleasurable way of helping yourself. Just take a look and take something that fits you best at the moment.

An image taken from @CamillaMiia on Pinterest.com.

It’s also important to acknowledge your feelings and make them valid. Don’t let anyone tell you you’re faking it or making a fuss.

It’s vital to learn about anxiety, know what triggers you the most, know what your signs of anxiety are.

Here’s also a great prompt on how the signs can look like.

Image taken from @notsosecretdiaryofanxiety on Instagram.

Here’s what I do about it. I read and learn about it. I try to understand the anxiety itself and my own anxiety. I know where it comes from so that’s a part of the success. But there’s so much to do and it is so worth it. I try out many things to calm it down and most of them really work. It’s vital to limit what causes you the most stress and anxiety. Then it’s so much easier to deeply work on your issues and implement it in your daily life.

Remember, when it feels too overwhelming, it’s really getting out of your hands and you feel like you’re gonna get crazy, get professional help. It’s not a shame to ask for help. It’s your life and your health so it’s something worth fighting for.

I’m Oliwia and thanks for spending a tiny part of your life on reading my article.

If you find my work interesting and helpful, please consider leaving a clap, a comment and a follow for more of my stories.

Want to become a Medium member and read all stories? Please consider signing up using my link — you’ll get a full access to Medium and I’ll earn a tiny commission — https://medium.com/@oliwiawilk/membership

--

--

Oliwia Wilk
Smartacity

Real-estate and property manager. Interested in non-fiction, true crime and productivity. Gluten-free eater. Editor at Smartacity medium.com/smartacity