Game of Thrones: The Art of the Pitch

--

[Spoiler alert: Plot elements from Season 7, Episode 7 revealed].

As a filmmaker and an entrepreneur, I’ve made a lot of pitches. I’ve pitched start-up ideas, apps, screenplays, and myself to a variety of decision-makers. I’ve also taught workshops on how to make an effective pitch. But, it wasn’t until I rewatched the Season Eight finale of HBO’s Game of Thrones that I noticed what turns out to be a near-perfect example of a pitch that makes people literally sit up and take notice. Here’s how it breaks down:

1. The Cold Open

Tyrion Lannister(Peter Dinklage) kicks off the pitch by setting the stage for what’s to come. He says very clearly that the current model isn’t working efficiently. In fact, it’s led them to the brink of war. After some pushback from his sister, Cersei Lannister (Lena Headey), he deftly steps aside as Jon Snow (Kit Harrington) comes forward to address the group.

2. State the Problem

--

--

J. Brad Wilke
Smarthouse Indie Film Marketing & Publicity

@teamsmarthouse co-founder // @portlandfilm artistic director // Wonderstream founder // screenwriter & producer