Emily Abt’s advice to women filmmakers: hone a technical skill

How the award-winning director went from being a caseworker to owning her own production company.

Katie Allen
Smashcut
3 min readJun 12, 2018

--

Emily Abt, documentary film director

I recently chatted with Smashcut mentor Emily Abt to learn how she got started with filmmaking, why social injustice stories are important to her, and about how mentorship has impacted her career.

Sometimes people can remember the exact moment they wanted to become a filmmaker. Are you one of these folks or did this career come as a surprise?

I was a 22 year old caseworker applying to law school when I decided to make my first film Take It From Me which was a documentary about welfare recipients in New York City. I made this film against all the odds and had significant beginner’s luck when it aired nationwide on PBS’s POV series. Before this, I had always loved films but never thought of filmmaking as a viable career option. I was right to be skeptical because filmmaking is not an easy way to make a living but over time, I decided that I’d rather be a struggling filmmaker than a successful lawyer. I truly love being a visual storyteller and have never questioned my career path since choosing it 20 years ago.

It’s obvious that you’re very passionate about social justice issues. Why have these stories been important for you to explore in your work?

As a filmmaker, you need to know what stories you want to tell. And not just stories you want to tell but stories you must tell. You are often your own boss so your passion for the story you’re trying to tell has to enable you to go the distance. I love films that feature strong women protagonists, grapple with race relations and explore social justice themes so those are the ones I am most committed to making. That said, I’m also a filmmaker for hire and I love when a new client introduces me to a story and characters that I have yet to explore.

What’s some advice you have for aspiring women filmmakers?

Hone a technical skill. I often earn more as a cinematographer than I do as a director.

What role has mentorship played in your filmmaking journey?

Unfortunately, not that much. Filmmaking is intensely competitive so unfortunately a lot of more established filmmakers don’t take the time to reach back and share what they’ve learned. That’s a big part of why I’m dedicated to Smashcut — it gives fledgling filmmakers real access to established ones who are earning a living doing what they love. Skill building and relationships are key ingredients in a filmmaker’s successful career, Smashcut enables both.

In 2000 you founded a production company, Pureland Pictures. What drove you to start your own production company and how has this endeavor changed your career?

Pureland is the umbrella under which I do all my work. I think being entrepreneurial is crucial to a career in filmmaking. You can’t be a filmmaker if you can’t sustain yourself as one. So understanding the business side of filmmaking is crucial. Owning my own company has also given me a lot of autonomy and flexibility that I very much appreciate as a working mom.

Tell us about your next project.

Right now I’m directing a branded content campaign for Microsoft. I also do a lot of local shooting gigs as a documentary cinematographer. My next narrative feature is about a woman who runs for mayor in Oakland. I’m also developing an episodic series based in the Bay area.

Thanks, Emily!

--

--