“I was not indifferent”

Efuet Atem
Smiling in Hardships
3 min readApr 6, 2022

--

Friday 1 April 2022. The pleasure to receive Thierry YEFFOU promoter of SendInAfrika. We discussed several topics.

Thierry YEFFOU

We note with dismay that after contracting the Coronavirus in 2020, the Cameroonian Students Association of Le Mans, AECM, once one of the most dynamic student associations in France is now brain dead. It was hoped that an effective vaccine would come from the young people still on the benches. But alas, the vaccine proved ineffective. It seems the youth have not been properly trained to produce the right vaccine. Whose fault is that?

Meanwhile, Thierry, Jacques Abeng and I tried to put the association on oxygen in intensive care. Let’s hope that an umpteenth dose will give her normal breathing. Among other things, we remember the association’s mobilisation to welcome new students.

We spoke at length about SendInAfrika (formerly Amazonafrika). A solution that allows the Cameroonian diaspora to buy and deliver directly to their relatives back home. He told me that today they are active in Yaoundé and Douala, but the ambition is Africa “Send to Africa”. I challenged him on his understanding of the notion of “the Market”, and especially how he calculated his market?

Then we talked at length about the difficulties we have experienced with the development of World like Home. I reiterated to Thierry, the same words I penned down in my book, Smiling in Hardships: “We have to admit that the risk is also the fact that we don’t foresee the whole spectrum of possible risks”. Like Mr Corona, intra-exogenous factors are difficult to predict. Hence the affirmation “only the ONE who risks everything can really win” (Chapter 4, Retrospection, Smiling in Hardships).

On Saturday morning before taking the road to Paris, I had the pleasure of signing his copy of the book. Two years earlier, Thierry had already had the pleasure of reading a draft of the book. He had commented: “In this book, this journey that Efuet offers us, I was not indifferent to each path. The end of a path pushed me to know more about the next passage, discover new environments and visualise the scenes of this passage. In the early stages of my current project, I was confronted with the problem of “Pre-Shareholders Agreement”. With this book, the author gives the solution to my insomnia.

Thierry YEFFOU reading his signed copy of the french version of Smiling in Hardships.

Well, if you too wish to go on this journey with us, you do not want to be indifferent. You want to visualise what we are building with World like Home… you can order your copy of the book here: smilinginhardships.com

Yes, thank me later!

--

--

Efuet Atem
Smiling in Hardships

Passionate about creating value in the society around me, I strive for a greater good for mankind. CEO World like Home & author of Smiling in Hardships.