sophee mink
smink123
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2023

--

As I prepare to begin writing my short-form story, a lot of thoughts regarding writing digitally for social action go through my mind. First, I feel as though it will most beneficial to exhibit the passion that I have for the topic through my writing. That way, I will be able to encourage others to take on the same feelings/worries I have for the environmental/social injustices taking place in California's agricultural system. Secondly, I think that it would be important to mention activists/researchers that are involved in the topic so that people can go to those specific individuals and take in information that way, as well.

For example, you have, of course, Rachel Carson, who wrote the well-known book, Silent Spring. Also, a very well-known environmental anthropologist that has done fieldwork and The Devil’s Fruit: Farmworkers, Health, and Environmental Justice (Medical Anthropology).

Basing my story and writing off of this work, I believe, is a great start. Knowing the topic front and back is important to make sure I am being thorough and detailed in my writing.

Moreover, there is a lot of scientific research surrounding the topic. For example, how pesticides affect children’s growing bodies, what toxic layering is, and how it specifically affects people’s bodies. There is also a good amount of anthropological writing describing the toxic social systems that are in place. Doctors that are contracted out through these big agricultural companies in California see farmworkers that present symptoms of pesticide exposure, but wave it off as “allergies” or “asthma.” All of this information is vital to building my story and making sure I am hitting all different angles regarding the environmental injustices taking place on the farms.

--

--

sophee mink
smink123
Editor for

Senior student-writer at High Point University. Digital writing for social action is my jam!