sophee mink
smink123
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

Fact-check your politics!

My favorite lesson in class this week is when we went over the different fact-checking sites that you can use. Since being introduced to this website, I have been on PolitiFact an embarrassing amount. What a great way to hold politicians accountable for what they are saying!

Just to reflect on my experience using PolitiFact; I found myself getting frustrated with what I found about some of the politicians that I commend regularly. So, as a result of my findings, I am realizing that I am a gullible consumer of media and need to be more thorough about what I am deeming true and untrue. Also, I need to realize that just because a powerful politician is saying something doesn't necessarily mean it is true.

AOC is my favorite politician. She is fierce and badass. Of course, the first thing I do upon searching PolitiFact is check on what AOC has been saying and what they scored her as. This is what I found:

Now, I am unsure as to how many statements/posts PolitiFact pulls from; but I do know that they are very transparent about how they make these decisions. How and what they do to make these decisions is found on their page which explains their fact-check methodology page and it is so interesting and well done!

There is no such thing as a perfect politician, and AOC is only human. I recognize that. I think she does her job so well representing the D-NY 14th district. Using PolitiFact made me realize that it is possible that what is said (by even or most favorite politicians) can be wrong.

--

--

sophee mink
smink123
Editor for

Senior student-writer at High Point University. Digital writing for social action is my jam!