Multimodality

sophee mink
smink123
Published in
2 min readMar 16, 2023

The concept of multimodality in writing was an interesting topic to learn about this week in class. Multimodality in writing is great, but there are also shortcomings that are associated with over-doing it. If said media is not purposefully enhancing your writing, interacting with the reader well and extending your work then it is probably not a good idea to include that picture, video, etc. It was helpful to evaluate my own writing to see if the use of media was enhancing my writing or taking away from it. After analyzing my own work, I found that I surprisingly have done a really good job at using media to enhance and create validity in my writing. In most of my posts, I added graphs that adequately depicted what I was trying to show or even screenshots regarding what I was talking about. It was important to me that I enhanced my writing in this way, and I do not think that I over did it at all!

Media should be used in writing to make it more dynamic, provide examples, etc. not everyones brains work the same so if you include a visual/auditory video that explains what you wrote you will be able to reach a bigger audience. Pictures can be used, graphs, videos, hyperlinks to other accounts, etc. I think multimodality is a powerful thing!

Should you overuse media and it negatively affects your writing, you need to consider why you chose to use it and how you could replace it with more detailed writing. But if you want to reference a site that totally overdoes it please take a look at the worlds worst website.

--

--

sophee mink
smink123
Editor for

Senior student-writer at High Point University. Digital writing for social action is my jam!