Elements of Play in Class

Mj
Smith-HCV
Published in
1 min readApr 13, 2020

One thing about having class on Zoom is that some of the elements of play that we once used to have in the classroom cannot be replicated on zoom. When we were asked to gather 15 random household items into class I wasn’t quite sure what we were going to use them for. Are we going to have show and tell or are we going to get a prompt and individually answer it? I didn’t really think that group work would be involved in this.

Like I mentioned in class, I like the use of the Breakout rooms when I am in classes because it allows me to process the information that was just taught in small groups. Breakout rooms also allow students to be in rooms together without the constant presence of a professor which is similar to what we would experience in the classroom. I also notice that when I am in Breakout rooms I speak out more and share my ideas.

I enjoyed playing the game in class. It was fun to see what other people brought with them and to get their reasoning as to why their item might help solve the problem.

--

--