A Letter From Your Son

Just ‘another’ Smith
Smithtastic Things

--

Dear Mum, I’m only small and young,

But I’m wrapped tightly in your arms,

Just minutes old in to the world,

But you and I are friends of old.

We’ve grown together month on month,

Shared kicks and punches through our bump,

But now I’m here your little boy,

To grow some more and bring you joy.

I’m getting older it’s so much fun,

Playing with you and John in the sun,

And in the winter when it’s wet outside,

We play indoors finding places to hide.

Going through school was often tough,

But it was always OK because I had your love,

If I came home and I’d had a bad day,

You’d be there for me to wipe the tears away.

I’m older still and look down on you now,

I can tell when you look at me that you are proud,

I’m almost a man now with places to go,

With homework to do and the lawn to mow.

When school is all over I’m getting a job,

As I leave for the Army together we sob,

But I wont forget home, I’ll see you again soon,

For some bubble and squeak which I’ll eat with a spoon.

After leaving the Army I’m back home again,

You watch as I fall in love with my best friend,

I’m moving away now to start my own life,

With some kids of my own and a beautiful wife.

There’s one thing I feel that you really must know,

That it doesn’t matter wherever we go,

Because I’ll be there with you inside of your heart,

So you wont be alone the times we are apart.

You smile at me proudly, your son is a man,

Well it’s because of you that I am who I am,

And those childhood cuddles that we had aren’t all gone,

Because now you have grand kids, our family is one.

But better than that you’ve got big hugs too,

Yes, I’ll always still want one mum because I love you.

-x-

--

--

Just ‘another’ Smith
Smithtastic Things

justanothersmith.tk, Father, Husband, Designer, Creative, Opinionated, Ranting Writer, Happy Snapper, Music Lover & Epic Dancer (questionable)