Scheduling OmniFocus Tasks in Fantastical 2

Sven Fechner
simplicitybliss
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2016

Scheduling your daily tasks gives you a sense of realism in terms of what can be achieved in one day. I have written about this practice extensively and also showed how I use Apple’s Calendar app and OmniFocus to schedule tasks by dragging and dropping them.

The good people at Flexibits found out and decided to implement this feature into the latest version of Fantastical 2 for Mac — only better!

When you drag and drop a tasks from OmniFocus into Fantastical 2 you not only get a link back to that task in OmniFocus, Fantastical also honours the Estimated Time for a task if set in OmniFocus and adjusts the length of the event accordingly. This is nearly to good to be true and one of many reasons why I now switched over to Fantastical 2 as my main calendar application on the Mac. You can give it a test ride before buying by downloading the 21 day trial version.

Flexibits has also just recently released Fantastical 2 for Apple Watch which instantly made it on to my wrist as well. While I am not the biggest fan of Fantastical 2 on the iPhone (only just because I prefer a visual day view instead of a list), I use it on all other platforms as my main calendar app.

There are always aspects in any application which can be improved and that is true for Fantastical as well. It is great to see how responsive and open to feedback and suggestions the team at Flexibits is. This tells me that buying their apps is a sustainable investment.

Find all of my OmniFocus posts in my ‘Essentials’ collection. If you like to master OmniFocus, I really recommend the excellent ‘Learn OmniFocus’ learning platform as well as the pragmatic ‘Working with OmniFocus’ video tutorials.

--

--

Sven Fechner
simplicitybliss

Every time when I hit 'publish' I feel a little better. Writing about productivity, creativity and simplicity. Sales Manager,  fanboy & avid mountain biker.