New Puppies and New Routines:

Kelley Small
SMU Coronavirus Chronicles
2 min readMay 7, 2020

What a typical quarantined day looks like inside my Texas home.

I begin my day by playing with my new puppy, Dallas, before I say good morning to any other member of the family. Dallas is the newest addition to the Small family and the cutest. She is a three-month-old Australian Shepherd and Border Collie mix. Dallas is patiently waiting for me to open the door so she can run around the backyard while I enjoy my daily avocado toast on the back patio.
The next part of my day, and possibly the most important, is to make a cup of coffee. Quarantine is to blame for my new addiction because three other family members cannot live without it. My favorite coffee is the Folgers Classic Roast Instant Coffee. I mixed the instant coffee with almond milk for a healthy whipped coffee. Then I tend to drink it in isolation from the rest of my family until my cup is empty.
Around 11 a.m, I use my caffeine high to clean my room and make my bed. This is a habit that I have developed during quarantine because it makes me feel better knowing that even if I get nothing done the entire day, at least I accomplished one thing. I also spend at least two minutes a day admiring my new chair I bought for my apartment that I can no longer lease due to COVID-19.
After getting some homework done, I have gotten into the routine of going for a 1.5–3-mile run. I have lakes and trails surrounding my house so I am able to run with a beautiful view. This picture was obviously taken at the beginning of the workout because I am still smiling. I do not enjoy running; however, it is a great stress reliever during this time and helps prevent the quarantine 15. After my run, I do a leg and ab circuit in my garage.
After having a family happy hour at 5 o’clock every day, my family and I always have a homemade family dinner. Tonight we made homemade pizzas. This is the part of the day where we all catch up and enjoy each other’s presence. We also always have a country playlist on repeat in the background of our meal!
The final thing I do every night is watch a movie with my family. We do our best to watch a movie together if homework and work schedules allow it. My family is mostly girls so we tend to watch movies similar to Legally Blonde and How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days. My dad has learned to like these types of movies!

--

--