Some Days I Rhyme

Parul Khanna
1 min readAug 13, 2021

--

Photo credits: Parul Khanna

Some days take on the most tedious shape.

The simplest emotions can’t find an escape.

Some days fear and anxiety want to be my best friend.

Routines fail, so I distract myself with a dull errand.

Some days I let whimsy take control;

Even on autopilot, the head must stay sane and whole.

Some days I don’t think about the fire in Greece or the hole in Ozone;

You see, some things can’t be fixed with all the money and the biggest, fattest loan.

Some day, I hope we find a solution to the pollution;

Before it’s too late for mankind to beg for absolution.

.

.

.

Today all I can do is scribble between neat little lines;

While the future of the world hangs by the skin of greedy canines.

It’s not the lack of knowledge, awareness or limited perception;

The crime of convenience prevents us from taking a step in the right direction.

--

--