300 to 400 Words? Good Thing I’m A List Girl!

My Entry In The Snap Shot Selfie Challenge

miranda deely
SNAPSHOTS

--

  • I’m a Canadian Brit born in England who grew up in Canada, then went to university in London, then came back to Canada, finally relocating to London last spring. Where I share a large 2 bedroom flat with a BA flight attendant, located in …
  • I’m an actress, and have a masters in dramatic arts from The Royal London Academy of Dramatic Arts.
  • I’m currently in rehearsals for a “moving venue” stage production consisting of short vignettes from five David Mamet plays.
  • Favorite performance? A year touring small town America in The Laramie Project, where we hosted after show discussions around homophobia.
  • Worst Performance? Definitely the Baroness in The Sound Of Music. On opening night The Captain and I had a serious fall during the balcony scene after the scaffolding broke. As did my ankle. In 3 places!
  • I’ve been a natural blond my entire life but recently had to go dark auburn for a role. Who knew? Doubt I’ll ever go back!
  • I have a Jack Russel / Westie mix, Miss Blanche. You might say she’s spoiled.
  • alto, or Allan, has been my best friend since the 9'th grade.
  • I make most of my own clothes, troll vintage shops, and am obsessed with finding Hermes scarves at said vintage shops. I also use them to decorate. The header above is tied around a lampshade. The three below? On the left was a great vintage find. Next, a treat to myself after my first big job, it’s the only scarf I’ve paid full price for. Last, a gift left to me from my second mother growing up, Allan’s mom, when she died.
  • I love British humor, the wine bars in Chelsea, and listening to street singers in Covent Garden. The weather, not so much. And I deplore bangers and mash. However, London Indian restaurants are the best anywhere.
  • My favorite response to online sexist trolls?, “Shelby honey, drink your juice”, followed by this.

--

--

miranda deely
SNAPSHOTS

mid 40's culture and style maven, downton abbey watcher, stage actress, proud feminist, anti-racist & GLBTQ ally, @mirandadeely