A Very Different Habitat

Dunelair
SNAPSHOTS
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2022

Our Month in New Mexico

TYPICAL SANTA FE GATE. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

A month ago, my sister asked me to help while she was recovering from a fall. Because we live within a few blocks of the Pacific Ocean on California’s central coast, we were not eager to go to the desert of New Mexico. Nevertheless, duty called, and we went. Here are a few photos of our time in Eldorado at Santa Fe.

DRIVEWAY ENTRANCE. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

The entrance to her property displays charming purple weeds.

DRIVEWAY VISTA. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

Nearby houses are far enough away to allow expansive views along the drive.

TUMBLEWEED ARRANGEMENT. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

My sister has a better artistic eye than I, and she welcomes you with a pot of collected tumbleweed at her front door. She collected these in her courtyard, but she tells me they are available for $55/bunch.

MINT ARRANGEMENT. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

The next-door neighbor brought an arrangement of thriving mint from her garden.

IRIS. Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

A friend arrived with irises from her garden. A thoughtful gift for my recovering sister.

Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole
Photos by author © Sue Moran Thole

My sister’s home is lovely, and it has a generous portal that runs the length of the house on the west side. Her uninterrupted vista displays acres of seldom-used ranch lands. I heard many birds during the month, but they seldom let me see them long enough to identify them. Except for the mockingbirds. I did see a few of them. I also heard wrens and saw one quail.

Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

New Mexicans rave about their beautiful skies, and their sunsets are spectacular.

Photo by author © Sue Moran Thole

--

--

Dunelair
SNAPSHOTS

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.