all photos by the author

And Light Enters The Battle

Winter mountains are incredible, even without snow

Serhii Onkov
Published in
3 min readMar 20, 2023

--

Well, honestly, I expected to see mountains covered by boundless snow cover when I finally planned to visit them in January. Instead, they met me with plus temperature and totally naked slopes.

But even in these conditions, the mountains looked great, as they do in all seasons of the year. I absolutely don’t regret this trip. I took dozens of photos that day, but I want to highlight only a few, mostly about playing and struggling between light and dark, dry and wet.

The day started with cloudy weather, but over time, the sun began to regain its position. Fortunately, we had already climbed up to enough height to catch this. Sun rays literally pierced clouds like swords:

From viewing points, we could see distant mountains dissolved in haze and orange clouds.

I especially appreciate mist in the mountains, when it doesn’t cover all around but lazily lies between ridges. Thoughts that I’m above the clouds right now make me happy every time I see something like this.

It is worth mentioning that finally, we saw snow. On 30 kilometers away from us, heh. It lay down on Chornohora, the highest ridge in the Ukrainian Carpathians.

Those mountains are so high that clouds clung to their peaks and got stuck in the air like strands of cotton candy.

And in the end, I want to show two more pictures when the light totally overcame the darkness. Even now, they help me remember that the constant darkness in my life will also be overcome — one day.

If you don’t want to miss out on my new stories, you can subscribe to updates on my blog. If you appreciate my photos or tellings, you can buy me a coffee.

--

--