Napping Cardinal by author

Back Porch Birding Part 2

Ridge
SNAPSHOTS
3 min readAug 23, 2023

--

Still In Lower Appalachia ~

As I said in Part 1, I would love nothing more than to say I faced all manner of adverse weather and terrain to get my photos, but I did not.

I lived in the wildlife-rich mountains of north Georgia and all my photos were taken from the comfort and relative safety of my porch.

I’ll let the photos speak for themselves unless there is a particularly interesting backstory.
Thanks for coming.

Papa Cardinal by author
Mama Cardinal by author
American Yellow Finch

Chickadees have been coaxed to eat from people’s hands, by people more patient than I.

Chickadee by author

I thought the lighting in the next two Yellow Finch photos was exquisite.

Adorable Yellow Finch Youngster by author
Adorable Yellow Finch Youngster by author

The woodpeckers were a persistent and voracious visitors at our feeders.

Curious Woodpecker by author

The Red Breasted Grosbeaks would stop by on their migration twice a year in great numbers to gobble up our energy rich nut & berry bird mix.

Red Breasted Grosbeak by author

The American Yellow Finches were a mainstay but lost their vibrant color during the winter months. When the male’s yellow returned we new we could till the garden for April planting.

Yellow Finch Drinking by author

It’s a pleasure sharing these photos with you. My thanks to you for coming and to @snapshots for all of their hard work behind the scenes.

Copyright © 2023
RidgeMagee
All Rights Reserved

Ridge's Anecdotes & Photography

14 stories

Ridge's Poetry

106 stories

--

--

Ridge
SNAPSHOTS

Engage & explore alternative points of view... Form opinions and convictions empirically... Tender perspectives without apology...