All photos by author

Photo Meditation

A Beach Meditation

Mindful Photography on The Beach

SNAPSHOTS
Published in
4 min readSep 14, 2022

--

I have written before about the beach and being around water. I used to find it difficult to feel calm at the beach: it was usually noisy, I was also a bit particular about not getting too much sand into my shoes and clothes.

But now, I find it a perfect chance to be mindful. A beach meditation is a full course sensory experience. You are also less likely to be distracted or to use your phone, because of the sun, the sand and the atmosphere in general.

Here is what I like to do:

First, take off your shoes or any footwear, as long as it is safe. Feel your bare feet on the sand while you walk or stand. As you move, notice how the sand texture and temperature change from one spot to another.

Get Your Hands Dirty

Use your hands. Build a sand castle, or a sand-anything really. Engaging your touch sensation can be soothing. Don’t hesitate or worry…

--

--